Hanging On When Life Sucks

I can’t count the number of times that I have been on my knees in the middle of the night sobbing to God, begging him to change my circumstances. I couldn’t see how I was ever going to survive the heartbreak of being abandoned when I was pregnant. There were more nights than I care to recall where I doubted my sanity in moving across the country but knew there was no way to return home. I was fearful of beginning college as a single mom and came close to quitting a number of times. I have experienced the shock of being laid off as a single mom. I have known the loneliness that came from refusing to date just anybody after the birth of my daughter. I have known long, tear-filled nights of begging my Creator to alter my circumstances to meet my wants.

Photographer: Nicki McKean / http://www.onthegophotos4u.com/

Photographer: Nicki McKean / http://www.onthegophotos4u.com/

But on the other side of that, I am here to tell you: God. Is. Faithful. When he promises something, you can bet your very life on the fact that he will see it through.

Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid or terrified because of them, for the Lord your God goes with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you. Deuteronomy 31:6

The real problem is that we spend too much time telling God how unfair he is and how he should be doing things, instead of resting in the understanding that he sees the beginning from the end and knows what is best for us, even if we don’t like it at the time. We want what we want when we want it. Like David, we cry out,

Hasten, O God, to save me; come quickly, Lord, to help me. Psalm 70:1

But we need to remember that God is the perfect parent, and as every parent knows, you help your children most, not by rushing in to save them from every upset, but by allowing them to go through trials in order to learn and grow. That doesn’t mean that you abandon them to their own devices, but rather you wait in the wings to strengthen and encourage. Your Father does the same.

So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand. Isaiah 41:10

The storms of this life are going to rage and Jesus himself guaranteed us that each day holds enough trouble of its own, so we cannot expect that every day will be smooth sailing. However, we need to root it deep in our hearts that God loves us, knows what is best for us, and will bring us to the place we need to be. We must have faith and trust. Our cry to God must become,

You will keep in perfect peace him whose mind is steadfast, because he trusts in you. Isaiah 26:3

We need to trust that no matter how ugly the situation might be, there is still hope. God has not forsaken us. His answer is coming just around the bend.

Weeping may tarry for the night, but joy comes with the morning. Psalm 30:5

I don’t know what your circumstances are right now, but I can assure you, if you trust the situation to the One who is ultimately in control, you will see amazing things. I can look back on all of those hours of tears and prayers and pleading and honestly thank and praise God for answering my cries with a gentle “no.” I wouldn’t trade the lessons I have learned, the strength I have gained, the faith that has been cultivated in me, or the life I live now for even one “yes” back then. He knows what is best for you. Trust him and follow his prescription for hanging on when life sucks:

Be joyful in hope, patient in affliction, faithful in prayer. Romans 12:12

Do you have a story that seemed hopeless but God worked out better than you could image? I encourage you to share and spread hope with those who need it most.

Abide in His Grace,

Heather

This post was shared with Time-Warp Wife, A Wise Woman Builds Her Home, A Little R and R, Marriage, Motherhood and Missions, and the Hearts for Home Blog Hop.

8 thoughts on “Hanging On When Life Sucks

  1. What a beautiful and convicting post. This part brought tears to my eyes: “The real problem is that we spend too much time telling God how unfair he is and how he should be doing things, instead of resting in the understanding that he sees the beginning from the end and knows what is best for us, even if we don’t like it at the time.”
    Yup, that’s exactly what I am doing. We are in a rough season, and have had some excruciatingly painful things happen- and it all seems needless and unfair. I’ve really been struggling with it. Thanks for the encouragement and honesty.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Special Encouragement from Special Ladies + HFH Blog Hop - Apron Strings & other things

  3. Hello Heather, I found your blog over at A Little R and R and yes, this blog post resonates deeply with me ! I remember being in school with no job at the time and having no money and getting evictions letters, my car breaking down on the highway more than a 100 miles from home in the middle of a winter night, my cell phone being shut off for weeks, not being able to afford food, and so much more than I actually will share here.

    But let me tell you this Sister, God is SO FAITHFUL !! I can never underestimate how faithful He is and He’s shown Himself strong on my behalf as I’ve prayed, praised and watched. God is good and I am glad you can share this today even in your hard times !

    Lots of love. Gertrude from http://www.workingchristianmommy.com

    Like

  4. Hello Heather,
    Oh how this resonates with me. I had written an earlier comment but it didn’t show up when I refreshed the page. In any case this resonated with me because about 5 years ago, I was in a place where I could not afford food, my cell phone was shut off for weeks at a time, I kept getting eviction letter, my car broke down on the highway in the middle of a winter night, I had no job and I was in school. My shoes were so tattered and I could not afford new ones.

    But boy, has God been faithful to me as I’ve prayed, praised (CRIED A LOT) and watched. His miracles are as real today as the day He parted the Red Sea.

    I am glad you are able to write this during your season of difficulty. You are about to experience a miracle. Don’t forget to tell us about it when you do !

    Lots of love, Gertrude from http://www.workingchristianmommy.com (I got here from A Little R and R).

    Like

Join the conversation...

